Tuesday, February 2, 2010

South India 3

There were several cogent rulers and dynasties in southern Indian history. Dynasties such as the Satavahanas of Amaravati, Kadambas of Banavasi, Western Ganga Dynasty, Chalukya absolutism of Badami, Western Chalukyas, Eastern Chalukya, Cheras, Cholas, Hoysalas, Kakatiya dynasty, Pallavas, Pandyas, and Rashtrakutas of Manyaketha accept disqualified over South India. The backward medieval aeon saw the acceleration of Muslim ability in South India. The defeat of the Kakatiya absolutism of Warangal by Tughlaq armament of the Delhi Sultanate in 1323 CE heralded a fresh affiliate in South Indian history. The attempt of the aeon was amid the Bahmani Sultanate based in Gulbarga (and later, Bidar) and the Vijayanagara Empire with its basic in Vijayanagara in avant-garde Hampi.

With the abatement of Vijayanagara and the alienation of the Bahmani sultanate, the Qutb Shahi absolutism of Golconda and Hyderabad became the ascendant ability in the region. Qutb Shahi ascendancy of the arena connected until the average of the seventeenth century, back the Mughals beneath Aurangzeb fabricated bent appropriate into the Deccan. Following Aurangzeb’s death, Mughal ability weakened, and South Indian rulers acquired freedom from Delhi. The Wodeyar commonwealth of Mysore, the Asaf Jahis of Hyderabad, and Marathas all acquired power.

Charminar at Hyderabad

In the average of the eighteenth century, the French and the British accomplished a abiding attempt for aggressive ascendancy of South India. Shifting alliances amid the two European admiral and the bounded admiral apparent the aeon with acquisitive armies actuality active by all abandon causing accepted chaos in South India. As the British circumscribed ability over abundant of India in the backward 1850s, they accustomed the French to absorb their backing over Pondicherry. The four Anglo-Mysore wars and the three Anglo-Maratha Wars saw Mysore, Pune and Hyderabad allying themselves with the British or the French. South India during the British colonial aphorism was disconnected into the Madras Presidency and Hyderabad, Mysore, Thiruvithamcoore (also accepted as Travancore), Kochi (also accepted as Cochin or Perumpadapu Swaroopam), Vizianagaram and a cardinal of added accessory baronial states. British Residents were stationed in the capitals of the important states to administer and address on the activities of the rulers.

The States Reorganisation Act (1956) created fresh states (Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala) and reorganised modern-day Tamil Nadu forth linguistic lines. Additionally, the enclaves of French India, which were ceded to India in the 1950s, were constituted into the abutment area of Pondicherry.

No comments:

Post a Comment